posted: 08/05/12 at 12:58 pm


By: Christian
Comments: No Comments »

It was the 2:53 AM in May, at the beginning of last century. At Piazzale Loreto in Milan, 127 brave riders in the saddle of their two-wheeled contraptions, has traveled to Bologna. A stage of 397 km. Very long. The fastest rider employed 14h06’15 ” with an average speed of 28 km / h. The race radio news was transmitted by telegraph. It was the first stage of the first Giro d’ Italia. It was 1909.

Since those moments pass over a century. But nothing has changed. The GIRO as wrote Indro Montanelli is an event that “has a strange power: transform to Sunday every day of the week”.

All of us, or almost, know about this Giro 2012 which has just begun. We know all about the champions at the start.
Anecdotes, stories, victories, defeats and tragedies.

In this years, we made our own the victories of Mario Cipollini, Marco Pantani, Ivan Basso, Alessandro Petacchi.

But how many of us have never dwelled on those numbers, on those curiosities that have shaped the history of the Giro?

We know that emotions mark our memories, but numbers help us to relive the best of these wonderful moments.

3 are the champions who have won 5 Giro editions:
Alfredo Binda (1925, 1927, 1928, 1929)
Fausto Coppi (1940, 1947, 1949, 1952, 1953)
Eddy Merckx (1968, 1970, 1972 , 1973, 1974)

Gino Bartali is the king of the mountain, gaining for 7 times the green jersey (now in blue).
Francesco Moser and Giuseppe Saronni gained for 4 times the points standings, with the cyclamen jersey (now Red Shirt).

336350 km driven up to now in 94 editions.
2448 kilometers the shorter Giro (1909); the longer was in 1954 with 4337 km.
The longest stage measures 430 km, from Lucca to Rome. It was the 1914 and the stage was won by Constante Girardengo in 17h 28′ 55″ with an average speed of 26 km / h.
8 was the lowest number of arrivals at the finish line in the Giro of 1914.
34 years and 5 months for the oldest winner: Fiorenzo Magni in 1955.
The record of 42 victories held by Mario Cipollini, (beating Alfredo Binda, 41 victories).
22 by Alessandro Petacchi, the most successful rider in activity.
12 victories on 15 stages of the 1927 edition by Alfredo Binda.
Among the active riders Alessandro Petacchi managed to win 9 stages in 2004 edition. 7 wins for Giuseppe Saronni in the 1980 edition.

About the history of the Giro we know practically everything.
But only a doubt remaining. Who will win this year?

Leave a Reply